Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Here we go, BIG audio newbie question

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2006, 12:07 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Here we go, BIG audio newbie question

I would like to replace the factory components in the front and add a sub (this will be a little later)

1. For those of you with ED components, which ones did ya get and did you install yourself?

2. Can the factory HU handle a sub?Preouts and enough power or is an amp completely necessary? I need to save as much trunk space as possible.

like I said Im a noob when it comes to audio, I used the search but I couldnt come up with what I was looking for exactly

Thanks for humoring my stupiness
(criticism welcomed)

CAMBY
Old 01-22-2006, 12:21 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

we first thought of adding the toyota ( bazooka ) sub to the stock system; but heard there was not much ( if any ) control for it, and its not a great value anyways. We talked to local audio shop, thinking we would just add an aftermarket sub/amp to stock hu to keep costs down ( we wanted some kick, but not somehting that would shake the pavement ) . Long story short; we ended up going with a new deck ( Eclipse ), with Eclipse amp & JL Audio sub. Spent about 700 total installed. We were able to keep stock speakers ( deck has crossovers to control power to speakers so sub does the bottom end work ); and for a reasonable investment got a much improved sound system. The sub does take up space in the back ( not a prob for us as we can do our 'hauling' in our other car ), but we had the amp put under passenger seat.
Not pushing one brand over another--but if it's do-able i'm sure most here would suggest a new hu as well. The overall sound is worth it ( at least for us it was ).
And this comes from a car audio noob as well; we may have a killer home system, but up to now have always relied on factory systems to get us by in our rides. Not no more.
Hope that helps.