Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

installing mono amp?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2008, 08:30 PM
SL Member

Default installing mono amp?

Anyone have a link to a DIY mono amp install preferably with pictures being that I'm a noob with amps. I searched and didn't really find anything. I am also hooking it up to the stock HU and I know I need the RCA output...but how does that work? Does it come with directions?

Thanks
Old 08-13-2008, 12:28 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

If you have the premium upgraded factory stereo there are 3 sets of RCA outputs on the back of the headunit (Front, Rear, and Subwoofer). If you have the non-upgraded headunit, you will need to purchase a Line-Output Converter. Heres a basic basic video on how to install the amp.

http://www.crutchfield.com/learn/lea...ers_movie.html

More Install Tips: http://www.crutchfield.com/learn/lea...tall_tips.html
Old 08-13-2008, 12:33 AM

10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

The basic, if you dont have the premium, you need a LOC (line out converter)
This will tap into the wires that run along the drivers side of the car to your rear speakers. Very easy to get to. The directions will be on the box for the LOC.
From the loc you will run a set of RCAs to the AMP. The amp will need a power wire from the battery with a fuse inline with the wire running to the amp. Then another wire run from the amps "-" to a bolt int he trunkt o ground everything. You will need to run a remote wire to turn the amp on. I run mine from a 12v source in the fuse panel and have an inline switch so i can turn the amp on and off if I choose.

You then run your wires to your sub. Fairly simple.
Old 08-14-2008, 10:59 PM
SL Member

Originally Posted by Nick06tC
The basic, if you dont have the premium, you need a LOC (line out converter)