Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Racing Harness w/ OEM Seats

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 04:23 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Racing Harness w/ OEM Seats

Can this be done properly with OEM seats, no harness bar and no roll cage?

Basically I'm a seat/harness noob and I've been considering a 4pt harness for autox. But really just for autox. I don't want to have to drive around with it all the time (though if it was truly useful and made sense, I probably would). Thing is that I want to keep my back seats available.

Ideally, I'd like something that can be installed easily for autox events and removed at the end of the day. But I don't know if this can be done properly/safely with a harness. I searched a bit and read some of the things that people were asking about the harness bars (NRG?). Would something like this be necessary? If so, would it make the back seats useless?

I'm gathering ideas and info at this point, so whatever you have will help. My car is my dd, so I'm trying not to go too far with it if I don't have to. And it's just not feasible or useful at all for autox, that's fine. It's not like I need a harness, but thought if I could steady myself a bit more in the car, I could focus more on driving.
Old 07-23-2008, 05:12 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

https://www.scionlife.com/forums/vie...510&highlight=

thats the closest thing i found. but from what ive read, dont do it w/o a cage, cause you could kill yourself from the harness, rather than it helping save you.
Old 07-23-2008, 05:47 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Ya, and that's part of it. I want to make sure it would be safe if I'm going to do it.