Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

"OMG tC IS KRAPZORZ" Reply

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2005, 03:23 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default "OMG tC IS KRAPZORZ" Reply

Also known as the rebuttal to haters thread. (As far as I'm concerned, this post should be stickied :D).

There are a lot of threads here and elsewhere concerning the various squeeks, whines, whistles, hums, paint bubbles, tranny, etc. of the tC. They invariably say that the whole tC model line is crap because of a bad experience.

Now, on my breaks off from school, I'm a valet driver. I've driven pretty much every type of car you can name. Everything from rental Chevy Malibus to an Aston Martin Vanquish. I've driven automatics, manuals, manumatics. I've driven cars tuned at home and cars tuned by AMG. I've driven brand new cars and cars that one could consider antiques. We have an offsite parking lot for the cars, so I've gotten to know some of them pretty well.

In certain cases, I may or may not have tested/seen tested the performance of these cars. [Legal Disclaimer: This didn't happen. Ever. At all. Trust me. Didn't happen. Nothing to see here. Move along.]

What's my verdict on the tC, after having driven cars that cost $150,000+ to cars that you couldn't pay me enough to drive?

The Scion tC is a damn good car and an incredible value.

What you get for the price tag is great. There is no denying that. But you have to understand a few things:

1) Having taken a fair share of psychology courses, I understand that when a person looks for flaws, they tend to see the flaws they're looking for. If, only the other hand, they look for the positive aspects of something, they'll tend to see only the positive aspects. This is why your friend is dating that guy/girl that you think is an ugly, unemployed, smelly *****. When approaching a new car, try to take note of your bias. And if you hear others talk smack, take into account their bias.