Notices
Scion tC 2G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

2012 Manual trans. Quick Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2011, 08:41 AM
5 Year Member

Default 2012 Manual trans. Quick Question

Hey everyone, completely new to the forum and a not a car guy at all.

I recently purchased a 2012 scion tc rs (after driving my 92' Honda accord for an eternity).

This is my first manual transmission car and i learned pretty fast. Im a really conservative driver and dont do any crazy racy driving with my tC.

Well my question is, when i come to a stop at a red light or watever i put it in neutral. and then when im ready to go i shift to 1st and then i start to go. But sometimes. My shifter doesnt go into 1st (yes the clutch is completely depressed). I have to play around with it. while having the clutch in, i shift from 2nd to 3rd and then try again to go to 1st. if it still doesnt work, i just keep shifting through gears till it finally goes into 1st.

If it really doesnt go to 1st, i just start going in 2nd. since thats all im left with (cant just sit in the middle of the street forever

I only have about 1200 miles on it. Now i practiced in a parking lot for a month. had my dad teach me who drove a stick for nearly 46 years.

Only happens about 4/10 times.

Open to any and all knowledge to this problem.

Thanks
Old 12-12-2011, 08:44 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

The only time I have issues with first is if I have to stop from a high gear and can't down shift in time, but it's really rare.
Old 12-12-2011, 11:48 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

sometimes you might have to play with the shifter,like move it side by side in neutral like 2 times or so,then go into first,sometimes the synchro in 1st is not properly lined up thats why you would have to go through the gears,just make sure your going all the way to the left and up,

just remeber never go into 1st gear unless the car is at a complete stop,1st is just to get the car rolling