Notices
Scion tC 2G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Oil filter ?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2012, 01:38 PM
5 Year Member

Default Oil filter ?

hey every1. Free one year oil changes are over so ill change the oil myslef soon. Its my first time dealing with a re-usable toyota filter. Dealership tried to sell me that oil filter removal tool for like $35 and told me it can only come out with that... Is this true? Just need to be sure before getting my back dirty and failing when i try using my normal tools... Can it be removed with hand? Or normal oil filter removal tools?

Thanks in advance and sorry if its been answered before, did a quick search in my phone but no luck
Old 12-09-2012, 02:07 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

You cannot remove the filter with anything but a Toyota Oil Filter Removal Tool. But you do not have to buy it at the dealership because their price is outrageous. I purchased mine from Autozone for like $7.
Old 12-09-2012, 02:22 PM
5 Year Member

Originally Posted by ProjectTC2
You cannot remove the filter with anything but a Toyota Oil Filter Removal Tool. But you do not have to buy it at the dealership because their price is outrageous. I purchased mine from Autozone for like $7.
Thank u sir for going straight to the point! Will buy one today!
Old 12-13-2012, 12:41 PM

Originally Posted by fly_low
hey every1. Free one year oil changes are over so ill change the oil myslef soon. Its my first time dealing with a re-usable toyota filter. Dealership tried to sell me that oil filter removal tool for like $35 and told me it can only come out with that... Is this true? Just need to be sure before getting my back dirty and failing when i try using my normal tools... Can it be removed with hand? Or normal oil filter removal tools?

Thanks in advance and sorry if its been answered before, did a quick search in my phone but no luck