Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Info needed on intakes..any experience with Blitz?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2003, 05:33 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

Default Info needed on intakes..any experience with Blitz?

I am interested in the Injen group buy....but I am hesitant to buy an oiled filter again. I am assuming the injen intake is an oiled element like the K&N.

I have been intrigued by the Blitz style stainless filters. But I have no experience with them.

I am not really interested in a cold air style intake, but more if a short ram. I think I may be more interested if Scion life hosts a group buy for the Blitz intake.

Anyone have any opinions?
Old 10-14-2003, 05:41 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

You bring up a very valid concern. I, too, am reluctant to use oiled air filters with any engine that uses any sort of MAF air metering device. It is inevitable that the element inside the MAF will get coated in oil. Depending on how much you oil the filter, that coating can take a long, or short period of time to build up, but it will happen. In most cases, it's never really a problem, but I personally would rather avoid that. That's why with MAF cars I prefer using foam elements like the HKS Powerflow, etc. They work great, and contain no oils. The only caveat: you HAVE to change the foam filter element out every so often, and that's something a lot of people tend to forget to do sometimes. But as long as you are on the up-and-up on maintaining your vehicle, that's not going to be a problem.

Stainless mesh screen filters like the Blitz one do allow for a pretty great amount of air flow, but because you can only get so fine of a screen using steel wire, they also do the worst job of filtering out smaller particles. This isn't a big deal if you're want the most flow possible, but for a street car, it might make the filter a bad choice...
Old 10-14-2003, 05:44 PM