Notices

Scion xA/xB & Toyota Echo, same engine??

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 10:47 PM

Default Scion xA/xB & Toyota Echo, same engine??

i have been doing research for parts and kits on xA/xB's for my 2003 Echo, and i would like some input , and i have one big question, is there ANY difference in engines between these cars.

Last edited by MR_LUV; 10-22-2017 at 03:41 AM.
Old 08-07-2008, 01:07 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I have a cylinder head off an echo, and I saw one on the bench apart at the dealer from an xb or Xa, they are the same. Right down to the same bent exhaust valves. If you miss a shift hard, or worse downshift when you should be upshifting, youll launch a set of exhaust valves right past the rev limiter. I believe most everything else is the same, but Im sure there are minor differences with some external stuff, as to be expected. I believe for the most part they are swappable.
Old 08-07-2008, 02:15 AM

ok, thx, just as i thought, question tho, the rev limit that would break/bend the valves, what RPM would that be?? cause i know the gov kicks in at 7200, and i usealy don't go any higher then 6000. just wondering if this could be a bad RPM to be toping at
Old 08-07-2008, 02:42 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

my car redlines at 6500, so you are safe up to there i suppose

also the 1FE-NZ engines in the xA, xB, Echo, are also in the Yaris as well
Old 08-07-2008, 02:47 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I know that the ECUs have even been swapped on here as the xb and yaris have learning ECUs and the echo didn't (smaller processor rate)

The 04-05 xbs and 06 have different wiring though-hence the problem with the GReddy turbo and SC kits on an 06.

Yeah, same motor and the tranny is somewhat the same but the Echo I believe had different final drive or some sucth thing-it's in a thread in here about gearing
Old 08-07-2008, 02:52 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

the ECU's are different.