Notices

What to run with my supercharged xB?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2009, 06:51 PM
5 Year Member

Default What to run with my supercharged xB?

I have just bought a 2005 xB that has had a GReddy supercharger installed with an Injen cold air intake and some sort of aftermarket headers and exhaust. I would not have done the mods myself, but I got a great deal on the car. All the mods seem to be done very well and professionally and the car runs great. That being said, I have a few questions being that I am a FI noob.

What weight oil should I run? 5W-30 like Toyota recommends or something else? Oil change interval? Anything else special that I need to do that I might not know about? What octane - is 87 alright or do I need to run 89 or 92?

It is running 5 psi of boost. Ballpark, what kind of HP/Torque should I see over stock. It does pull pretty good compared to my stock 2004.

I appreciate any insight/words of wisdom...thanks much!

Last edited by fatguy; 09-18-2009 at 09:19 PM. Reason: Aother question
Old 09-18-2009, 10:18 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

Default 1

u need to run 91 atleast..... also maybe run 1 or 2 stage colder plug
Old 09-18-2009, 11:50 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Fail, INC
SL Member

A boosted vehicle should run premium. You don't have to adjust the oil weight, but you should be using a high quality full synthetic oil.
Old 09-19-2009, 03:36 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Fail, INC
SL Member

please do not run 87 in a boosted vehicle so many problems can come of that. premium only.

youre probably looking at about 125whp with 5psi on these engines (correct me if im wrong)

i agree with Ian about the oil and would say depending on how hard you run it is how long you should go between oil changes, run it hard and change your oil every 3000 miles, just kind of put put around town and occasionally get on it, then i would say you should be good to go for the recommended 5000 miles.
Old 09-19-2009, 05:06 AM