Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

'05 6-disc help needed

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2004, 11:54 PM
5 Year Member

Default '05 6-disc help needed

Hey Scion people - I am a noob and need some help. :D
I picked up an '05 6 disc unit for my Toyota Tacoma. I seem to be having a problem with the unit though.
I got it hooked up in my Tacoma, but the unit says the cd changer is full and will not accept any cd's. I saw the sticker on the unit about locking it for shipping, and tried all that to no avail. The first time I turned it on, the unit later said 'error code 3'. I searched on this forum and found an old post by a person who hooked up a scion cd unit into a 4Runner with the 'error code 3', but no post was made about the outcome. This is the post: https://www.scionlife.com/forums/vie...light=cd+error
I am going to try to message that person and see what they came up with. Kinda makes me wonder if the electrical from the Toyota trucks is slightly different than the Scion. Anyway, then I disconnected it, reconnected, powered up, and now just get the 'cd full' message, but no more 'error code 3' coming up.
I may go talk to a dealer and see what they think, though I am 99.9% sure they won't warranty it because its in a Tacoma now, and I had to trim the face with a rotary tool to get a good fit.

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated....

PS - The person I got the unit from didn't send any info with it either... can someone tell me how to change the opening text message that says 'Scion' when you power it up???
I have figured out everything else, expect for the cd's obviously

And heres my Taco if you care to see.... http://www.cardomain.com/id/dave89144
Old 09-15-2004, 09:36 PM
5 Year Member

OK, well I found out some info on my own......