Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Sound System Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2006, 03:38 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Sound System Suggestions

Ok, I need some help picking parts for my sound system. I will have about $2000 to spend on it. I think I will be doing alittle competing with it. I would also like some video components to. So can you guys help me decide what to put in my xb?
Old 03-21-2006, 02:50 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

what kind of competing are you looking into?? SQ?? SPL?? what?? $2000 won't get you REAL far with video added in as well...
Old 03-21-2006, 06:20 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Agreed. I am a novice myself, but I know as well that if you budget yourself $2000 and want to include video, you aren't going to get very far.

If you drop the video, you can build a pretty decent system for $2000. And with the right components you can design and build a system with good sound quality that still hits pretty decent SPL. My suggestion is to go for SQL over SPL. If you go SQL, at least you know it will (can) sound good. Building a system for SPL often means sacrificing sound quality.

Subwoofer wise I would take a look at Image Dynamics, or if you want to save some money there check out Diamond Audio.
Old 03-21-2006, 06:39 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

^^ agreed, an SPL system is generally ported and tuned toward the cabin gain frequency of the car... that in itself kills sound quality.....

How much space are you willing to give up in the trunk?? If you're wanting to still be able to compete in SPL competition, I'd stick with a standard MDF ported box (tuned of course, not pre-fab)... get 2 amps, one sub, and a component system...and a HU
Old 03-22-2006, 03:24 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member