Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Ugh.... Crazy tough install, but great cheap fun mod!

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2005, 03:54 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Scion Justice League of America
SL Member

Default Ugh.... Crazy tough install, but great cheap fun mod!

I built my own Front and Back Footwell lighting for $27.63!!!! Wait... you say... big deal???

I'm an electronics noob... but I wanted to use the same switch as my TCover (To make it "better than" OEM looking, as the oem LED switches are wierd IMHO... so I bought a whole pack of 'em and wired it so that up is Front, middle is off, and down is Front and Back... Had to learn about diodes to make sure that it didn't backfeed and continue to light up both, when I only wanted one to light up.... cool stuff...

I bought the CC Tubes here VVVVV and you can pick up the switches and diode at Rad Shack for CHEAP.

http://store.pchcables.com/su12ccduliki.html - 4 sets (Which are Nicely Bright)

I'll get around to post pics, but they are brighter than the stock overpriced LED sets and a hell of a lot cheaper... took me a long time, as I had to learn how to solder/how diodes work/and run the wires all over the place... but used wireshrinkwrap and it looks pretty....

Best ~30 Bucks I ever spent on my car....

Now just waiting for my shipment of wedge LED's to come, so my whole car will be all blue...

Now to rip apart my XBox.... that mod will be how-to worthy, as When I'm done, I'm sure others would like to give it a try... as we're all dumping those for 360's soon I'm sure. Give my rear seat passengers something fun to do, and some dvd watching ability as well....
Old 11-06-2005, 04:33 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member