Scion xB 1st-Gen Owners Lounge
First Generation 2004-2006.5 [NCP31]

Disappointed in 5 speed xB

Old 07-05-2004, 02:35 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Disappointed in 5 speed xB

I went and test drove a 5 speed xB yesturday and was a little disappointed by the whole experience. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE the xB, and I will be getting a Thundercloud in a couple of weeks. But I just thought the 5 speed was really weak. I have driven a couple of auto xB's and wanted to see if the 5 speed might be a little quicker. But is doesn't seem like it is at all. In fact, the gearbox was so tight and sticky that I think the auto was actually a little quicker. Anyone else have a similar experience? I guess I'm gonna end up poppin the $800 for the auto tranny. Not sure what the hell I'm gonna do with my right hand though!!! I've been driving nothing but standards for 8 years now!
Old 07-05-2004, 02:39 AM
Banned
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
DelMarVa

its not faster. I've raced auto tranny xBs. but what do you expect from a 108 hp car???
Old 07-05-2004, 02:47 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

With only 1.5 liters pumping out 105 hp, doesn't matter whether it has a stick or auto, it's gonna be slow. I like the stick because I want the ability to shift the engine myself. The stick also seems to be geared to make the most use of what little hp the car has. It could sure use a 6-speed tho, in order to get those rpms down when it's cruising along at highway speeds (3500 rpms at 65 mph). My SRT-4 was only pulling 2500 rpms at the same speed.
Old 07-05-2004, 02:52 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG