Notices
Scion xB 1st-Gen Owners Lounge
First Generation 2004-2006.5 [NCP31]

How dark to tint my Xb

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2005, 03:48 AM
5 Year Member

Default How dark to tint my Xb

I want some opinions on tinting the box. On my current car, I have 5% on the sides and rears and 35% on the whole windshield. It looks great! I am thinking about doing the same to the Xb. I contacted a local tint shop and they said they wouldnt tint my windows that dark because if I was in an accident my insurance would be viod. I have never heard this. I hope its not true because I have been driving around with my windows this dark for 2 years!

I contacted the guy who did my current car and he said the insurance thing is not true at all. I dont know who to believe, I want the dark tint, but I dont want to be sued if I am in an accident.....
Old 06-02-2005, 03:59 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

35% on the windshield is lame, get 5% all around 35% front windows and something maybe super super light for the windshield
Old 06-02-2005, 04:06 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

5% ?? I have 2% all around except the windshield, its been metered by the police about three times, I live in florida and I have never heard the void of insurance thing, but do what you like best
Old 06-02-2005, 04:43 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

actually, yes, the insurance can and will void any coverage if they find that illegal tinting was the contributing factor in a wreck. it falls under the clause of coverage being denied should you have an accident that was the result of, or contributed to because of your breaking the law.

basically comes down to the ins.co. saying "you were breaking that law, what the hell do you want US to do about it?!? If you want protection, try obeying the law next time."