Notices
Scion xB 1st-Gen Owners Lounge
First Generation 2004-2006.5 [NCP31]
View Poll Results: What's your average MPG?
between 25-30
29.63%
between 31-33
40.74%
between 34 and up
18.52%
between 25-28 but I run the AC alot
7.41%
Like I care about MPG's
3.70%
I'm a crappy driver and I don't pay attention to that stuff
0%
Voters: 54. You may not vote on this poll

MPG Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 12:03 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default MPG Question

So what are you feeding you car? basic unleaded, mid grade, or High octane? Do you see a difference?

I use to feed my xB("Toasty") high octane but prices here in LA are to high now. The high octane gave my car great burst of acceleration from a dead stop but the basic 87 octane just won't give me the power.

I did notice that the high octane gave me about 35 mpg and the 87 only gives me 32 mpgs
Old 10-18-2007, 12:08 AM
5 Year Member

SL Member

I've never used anything above 87. I have averaged 33.23 MPG over 14,400 miles.
Old 10-18-2007, 12:11 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Never get less than 30, driving an auto in Philly & environs, using any brand-name regular gas (Sunoco more often than not).

r
Old 10-18-2007, 12:14 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

i use regular 87
i get around 34 mpg on average.
i drive a good mix of city & highway.
i use a special home made mix i put in my tank with every fill up. ive tried bouncing back and forth with the mix to doubble check my findings. with out the mix i get around 31 mpg.
so i always use the mix now.

i use: 4oz of 100% pure acetone
3oz of Lucas upper cylinder lubricant

i mix it in a (empty & clean) 20oz soda bottle and fill the rest of the way with gas and mix it all up real good.
i put 1 bottle per full tank.
it idles smoother, better ecceleration, and getter mpg, what more could you ask for.
Old 10-18-2007, 03:48 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member