Scion xB 1st-Gen Owners Lounge
First Generation 2004-2006.5 [NCP31]

Rostra CC wiring clarification for XB

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2010, 11:18 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Rostra CC wiring clarification for XB

Finished installing the Rostra CC on my '06 XB. Took a couple hours and I'm an experienced mechanic. Just take your time. Found the installation book to be a little misleading as to identifying the correct wires to hook into and your perspective as to looking at the connector to tap into. Just be sure you're looking at each connector the same as in the illustration. You CAN get it backwards!

1st. On the '06 XB for the VSS it says to tap the Gray wire from cc to the violet/white wire on ECM. However, you have a 50/50 shot at getting this right. There are actually TWO violet wires w/ white. The one you want is the violet with the SOLID white strip, not the dotted white. I got it wrong and of course the cc did not work until contacting Tech. support and I went through a whole diagnostic routine... ugh!

2nd. In the manual it says this wire is in the #8 slot on the connector - THIS IS WRONG! That's the incorrect dotted white/violet. The correct slot is the #9. The illustration perspective is with the plug (black one) disconnected from ECM and looking at the male side - the side that actually slides into the ECM.

3rd. The lines in the Troubleshooting section for checking the system out are one line too high, as starting at A-4 through A-8. For example: A-4 should say "Control Switch "on", "Ignition "on", Push Brake Pedal.
When doing the checks it could be misleading, that's all.

4th. In Step 3, don't try and use the Factory Clip as stated. Just allow the cable to follow it's natural course and put a zip tie downstream where both the original and new cc come together. Don't crimp the cable in any way.