Notices
Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

Whining sound in 2nd and 3rd gear while accelerating

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2015, 02:13 AM

Question Whining sound in 2nd and 3rd gear while accelerating

I have a 2006 scion tc with 178000 miles on it. I just put in a new clutch. When we took the transmission off there wasn't any gear oil or any drop of fluid that came out. Idk how I didn't sieze my transmission lol who knows how long I drove with no gear oil. Im not too good with cars but I know just a few things. My buddy is the master mechanic not me. Anyway, before I put the clutch in it never really made the whining sound at all but now its definitely noticeable. Is it just because theres no gear oil? What would u guys do in this situation? I need some good advice guys I just got my car fixed after it sat in the driveway for 6 months I don't wanna have to fix something else. Any advice/help is always helpful. Thanks. Everything is stock on my car. I tried looking for other "whining sound" threads but couldn't find one about my situation.

Today is Friday Nov 6, so later today after I cash the paycheck im putting gear oil in it which will most likely fix the sound. If that fixes the sound ill be happy, but if that doesn't fix the sound then I bet its a bad bearing or something and ill make a video so everyone can hear it. only put 10 miles on it since the new clutch was put on. if u need any more info just let me know. im trying to be as descriptive as possible

Last edited by tdh0085; 11-06-2015 at 04:06 PM. Reason: adding more info
Old 11-06-2015, 03:31 PM

damn 150 people read this and didn't reply...I figured id get at least 1 or 2
Old 11-06-2015, 04:33 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Honestly, these forums are dead now, and it's only been a day. The only people that post are people in your situation that need answers. There's a few of us lurking around from time to time that try to help where possible.