Notices
Off-topic Cafe Meet the others and talk about whatever...

Intel CPU upgrade?

Old 11-06-2006, 12:30 AM
  #1  
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Thread Starter
 
sixpac440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kentwood Michigan
Posts: 80
Default Intel CPU upgrade?

I have an Intel 915GEV board with a 630 (3.0GHz) and a gig of ram.
The C drive is a WD 74 Raptor (10,000 rpm).

Will the Intel 570J (3.8GHz) significantly improve boot time or just over all performance?

I donít game I just rip/burn CDs & DVDs.
sixpac440 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 02:35 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
saylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 158
Default ehh, not so much maybe

eh, your bottleneck is probably not the CPU.

How much RAM do you have?

Your h.d is fast enough @ 10K r.p.m, but with only a 2MB cache maybe?

Get your PC all running, burning a CD or playing a game or whatever, then hit ctrl+alt+del and look at Task Manager - see what's running, how much memory it is taking, and how much CPU is being used in real time.

RAM & video card MB and system swap file size all need to be considered ,depending on what you're doing.

- Saylor
saylor is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:02 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Scion Evolution
 
L337Biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 312
Default

The raptor is the least of his worries. I believe it's 8 MB of cache and if the motherboard supports it, Native Command Queuing helps the performance even more.

One thing I'd recommend is the program Registry Mechanic( http://www.pctools.com/registry-mechanic/ ). I've used it on several systems and I've seen significant increases in boot time as well as a reduction in system/program errors. It also allows you to compact the registry so it takes less time to load at boot up. I'm running two 36GB raptors in a RAID 0 array, and if that's not enough, I used registry mechanic to make it boot even faster. From power on to desktop it takes probably 20 seconds :D

Also, the quality if the ram has just as much importance as the capacity ;) I run high-end Corsair memory(not their value line crap) in my systems.

just my opinion *shrugs*
L337Biker is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:40 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
saylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 158
Default

so,,, you're gonna run more software... to fix your hardware speeds??
saylor is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:25 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Scion Evolution
 
L337Biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 312
Default

it works.. otherwise i wouldn't have recommended it.. it's not a program constantly running in the background. just run it once a month to clean up your registry
L337Biker is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
rain7905643
PPC: Engine / Drivetrain
3
06-13-2018 05:29 AM
Lexparker
Scion xA Owners Lounge
6
10-23-2015 11:39 PM
JZA70
PPC: Wheels / Tires
0
09-12-2015 09:37 PM
SJMiller
Scion xB 2nd-Gen Owners Lounge
0
09-12-2015 06:33 PM
Subaru86
Scion FR-S ICE & Interior
0
09-10-2015 08:11 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Intel CPU upgrade?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.