TC Spring Install...

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2007, 03:45 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Team ScionEyed
SL Member

Default TC Spring Install...

I am looking for someone in the Austin area who can change the springs on my tC. I would do this work, but I have never done it before and I don't really want to mess it up.

If you can do the job, or if you know of someone or a shop that does quality work, please let me know. I would like to know how much it's going to hurt my wallet and when the work can be done. So far, from the shops that I have called, they say that it's going to cost me like $450... that is WAY too steep for this.

Or, if someone can just help me do it... I would appreciate it, and still be willing to pay if the price is reasonable.
Old 02-27-2007, 05:34 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

I did this a couple weekends ago. Took 2.5 hours for the front and 3.5 for the back (had to make a quick trip to the store in this time when I busted a bolt).

I used these guides:
http://www.club-tc.com/forums/suspen...tallation.html

http://www.club-tc.com/forums/suspen...k-install.html

If you're not using TRD springs, then the rear will be different since the spring compressor probably won't fit on the new spring. I used TRD's so I was able to use the compressor.
Old 02-27-2007, 08:11 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Team ScionEyed
SL Member

I don't have a spring compressor, a torque wrench breaker bar or jack stands. I guess I could go buy or rent these things, but that's one of the reasons I was going to pay someone else to do it.
Old 03-01-2007, 02:13 AM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member
SL Member

well if you dont know anyone near you with the tools that can help and/or know what they are doing then i would just pay a shop or the dealer to put them on.
if you dont have help and the right tools it will take you maybe a day or 3. the tC isnt an easy drop.
and the kind of spring you get shouldn't make you not be able to use a spring compessor.