E350 vs E351 - Scionlife.com

Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Old 11-28-2017, 01:28 AM   #1

Default E350 vs E351

I'm somewhat new to the Toyota scene. I have an 06 Camry base auto and I'm going to be doing a manual swap and also plan on doing a turbo or 2gr swap. I've been doing some lurking on carpart.com looking a trans.

In my area e350 transmissions are quite a bit lower cost than the Camry e351. I know it's a common swap to put a e351 in a tC. My question is would that same rational hold true to a e350 in a Camry?

Any info someone may have would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by MR_LUV; 11-28-2017 at 04:24 AM. Reason: typo
Skeelow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 12:04 PM   #2
Super Moderator
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
SuperMod

It should work, but there is once important difference. The Camry uses a speedometer sensor that is driven off a plastic gear that's mounted to the differential. The tC (e350) does not have this sensor since it gets vehicle speed from the abs sensors. Now you could swap the sensor into a tC transmission since it does have the plastic gear on the differential as well, but since the gear ratios are so different between the tC and Camry, you will likely have a big discrepancy between the vehicle speed on your dash vs actual speed. It will read too high.
bbsciontc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 02:15 PM   #3