Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

$14,500 now what?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2004, 01:26 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default $14,500 now what?

Im posting this on the tc forum because the tc is my first car choice. unfortunately im having problems getting a private loan (screwed up credit )and i need a car within the next few days.
so, here's my problem i have about 14500 cash i can spend for a car and like i said i need one now. ive already dealt with the realization that im not gonna get my tc this year so i'll try for next year. but i went to a dealership and got a good deal on a used 2004 corolla loaded. but im not sure if this is what i should get. does anyone have any suggestions? i want a car that will be easy to sell in a year and retain much of its value but for 14500 am i being realistic? what would u get?
Old 08-27-2004, 01:40 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I am not a leasing expert but is there any way you could lease a car for a year (or even rent a car for that matter). Then when the year is up, you have no obligations and can get your tC.

Kevin
Old 08-27-2004, 01:40 PM
Former Sponsor
SL Member
DelMarVa
Scion Tuners

If you want to buy a used car that will retain it's value purchase a 2 or 3 year old vehicle. One thats already taken the majority of the hit on depreciation. If you are looking at a used 2004 most likely it was a TRAC (rental) vehicle or one they purchased at auction. Not the best choice for a used car in my opinion. I would consider purchasing from a private party as well, you will get a better deal all around and use your sources for information such as KBB.com, Edmunds.com and NADA.com to find the true value of the vehicles you are interested in. If you do purchase a used Toyota make sure when it's time to trade it in you are under the 65K mark and no older than 5 years old. These vehicles can be certified and will bring more money when it's time to trade.

I hope this helped.