Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

3rd gear

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2004, 07:02 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default 3rd gear

hey guys, well its been almost two weeks with my tc and its been great, but i remember when i was debating about getting a manual or auto, i remember hearing alot about manual popping out of 3rd, its been two weeks, almost 300 miles, and i have not experienced it once, was this true just in the earlier models or something? because my cousin is debating on whether to get a tc let alone manual or auto, and hes read reviews on it popping out, and i told him i have not experienced it yet and he says its cause im a newb shifter and im realy careful on my shifts
Old 11-17-2004, 07:30 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

never had a gear pop out yet, just broke 200 miles, hope to get my break-in completed within a week (then i'll slow down driving, just itching me right now)

I'm a newb to stick too, and doing surprisingly well, haven't grinded a single gear (well, once it went *tat-tat* into 4th gear because I let out the clutch too early) and I've been practicing on solid hills till I got it down, only stalled it twice since I've had the car *knocks on wood*

but the shifting action feels great, although it is really tight shifts, my dad's VW Jetta GT seems more spaced out, I've mis-shifted from second to fifth and backed out again quickly twice so far.... but no mechanical problems yet (including elusive non-existent rattles)

sooooo much happier than the 4-speed auto I test drove
Old 11-17-2004, 07:43 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

5900 miles and no problem other clicking. doesnt pop out of third though.
Old 11-17-2004, 04:10 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

just over 10000 and no jumping out of gear
Old 11-17-2004, 04:14 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member