Notices
Scion tC 1G Suspension & Handling Coilovers, Shocks, Airbags, Swaybars...

DIY: Brake Pads, Rotors, Caliper Painting, and Bleeding

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2007, 07:50 PM

Default DIY: Brake Pads, Rotors, Caliper Painting, and Bleeding

Sticky me! Also add to/correct me because I'm no pro!

OK so none of the tC forums have a friggin how to on this I figured I'd make one. I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANYTHING YOU BREAK, DESTROY, LOSE, OR INJURE!!! I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL, THIS IS JUST MY INTERPRETATION. I ALSO HATE LAWYERS! THAT WOULD EXPLAIN ALL OF THESE CAPS!

Anyway, to start, here's the stuff you need (assuming you're doing everything I did)

if you aren't painting the calipers nix the paint and the brake cleaner spray. If you aren't changing the rotors, nix the new rotors (duh), the (12mm?) bolt, and the 14mm Socket for the socket wrench. If you aren't bleeding the brakes then lose the bleeder kit and adjustable wrench.

Old 03-11-2007, 08:01 PM

I did the rear first, they were easiest, I'd start there. remember not to engage the e-brake when doing any of this.
Also, make sure the car has been sitting for at least an hour or so, so the brakes are cool.

Before:

Jack it up with the scissor jack or hydraulic jack in my case, and put the jackstand under there, and SLOWLY let it down onto the jackstand, making sure it's seated properly. If you don't have an impact wrench & compressor, brake the lug nuts loose before jacking the car up, you can't do it on the rears while it's in the air.

off comes the wheel

Old 03-11-2007, 08:23 PM

Then with the 17mm socket on your socket wrench, undo and remove this bolt (there's only one on the rear caliper, there are two on the front)

and then you can swing the caliper up

and you can wiggle the old pads out, make sure to save the little metal clip on the pad if there is one, and put it in the same position on the new pad that will replace it.