Notices
Scion tC 2G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

2011 Scion tC CEL & Traction Light appeared; Tsudo S2 Exhaust & AEM CAI

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2013, 09:56 PM

Default 2011 Scion tC CEL & Traction Light appeared; Tsudo S2 Exhaust & AEM CAI

Hey everybody, so I hope this is the correct forum, I'm new to this forum. Anyhow today at school I left campus to get some food, when I got back in my car and started it up, the CEL and Traction Control light appeared. I noticed at times my car was shaking a little bit. I installed my AEM CAI in the fall and never had a problem with it. I installed the Tsudo S2 caback exhaust about a month ago and up until now I have no had any problems with it. I'm not too tech savvy when it comes to the engine and troubleshooting so any help would be great! Should I take unhook the negative terminal on my battery for 15-20 min and let it reset or should I reset the ECU? Thanks everyone!
Old 02-06-2013, 11:51 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

I recall reading somewhere else on this forum before about AEM sensor not working right and causing the symptoms you just described. Never had the problem myself so can't help you any more than that unfortunately.
Old 02-06-2013, 11:57 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Yes from what I read too, it sounds like the AEM intake is to blame. something with your MAF sensor. When you installed it, did you reset the car's ECU via the battery? you disconnected the battery for at least 10 mins, then after the install you reconnected and then let it idle for roughly 15 mins BEFORE you did any test driving?
That is a standard procedure for air intake swaps, and it's the only thing I can think of besides the AEM just being lame and having permanent problems communicating with your ECU via the MAF sensor...

search the AEM intake problems for our cars. I'm sure you'll find something others have had.
Old 02-07-2013, 04:36 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member