Notices
Scion tC 2G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Sloppy drivetrain

Old 08-13-2012, 05:44 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Sloppy drivetrain

Anyone else notice a sloppy drivetrain with the 6mt? I know the gear box is noisey, but if let off the throttle, I can feel the motor shift. Getting back on the the throttle is the same thing. Lower gears like first and second is more notible. I'm wondering if it is just the combination of axle play and trans play. Weird part is that I don't hear a clunk, it is actually soundless, you just feel it. I've had fwd cars with loose differentials and they would make a clunk. Anyone else notice this?
Old 08-13-2012, 02:09 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

How long have you had the car?
I'm asking because I developed negative thoughts during my first couple of drives.
It also matters what kind of car your came from.
You'll get used to it, but I do not believe the drivetrain in sloppy, but i'm far from an expert.

Have you ever had a Manual transmission? When your in gear and let off the gas the motor is still in gear and at the same revs, so yes it may move a little bit when you let off the gas at a higher RPM.
Old 08-13-2012, 03:50 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

it seems like the people with complaints about the trans, shifter, etc did not test drive the car before they bought it. Either that or emotions were running high and now feeling buyer's remorse. I've had a couple scions now and the drivetrains behave almost the exact same way. Same clicking when the engine runs and same action on the transmission, but how do you not notice these things before you buy the car? The car will be just fine. Most likely.
Old 08-13-2012, 04:33 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by speterson82