2004-2006.5 [NCP61]

Hey, I'm new to ScionLife-a couple of questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2005, 09:40 PM
5 Year Member
Team ScioNRG

Default Hey, I'm new to ScionLife-a couple of questions

Hey,

I am new to ScionLife.com, I take delivery of my 2006 Black Sand Pearl xA this Thursday (December 22)!! I already have some plans for it, and so I have a couple of questions.
The first is, which lowering springs should I go with, the Hotchkis, or the TRD. I was leaning toward the Hotchkis springs, but then I was thinking maybe I should go with the TRD ones for warranty purposes?
The second question is, which front sway bar should I go with, I am down to three choices: the TRD one, the Hotchkis one, or the DC Sports one?

Thanks for your help/suggestions in advance.

-Mike
Old 12-20-2005, 10:28 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

1. welcome
2A. Screw hotchkis and trd springs
2B. Tanabe DF210s, better performance, better look.
3A. You talking about front strut bar or front sway?
3B. If you are talking about strut, i'm pleased with Hotchkis
3C. Being virtually all sways are add ons or shock mounts to date, just pick a reliable company to go with. Then when subframe sways come out, sell your existing one for that.

Cya
Old 12-20-2005, 10:37 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

The xA needs way more drop than TRD or Hotchkis will provide. To answer your question, I would choose Hotchkis over TRD. They won't void your warranty and will get you a little lower.

If it's the strut bar you seek, the Hotchkis is nice, but the DC looks about the same and costs less. Pretty much all of the strut bars for the xA/xB do very little for performance.

Good luck

-THE DON
Old 12-20-2005, 10:45 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Scinergy

any aftermarket part not manufactured for scion by scion will void your warranty.