Notices
Scion xA Owners Lounge
2004-2006.5 [NCP61]

Questions About xA Before Buying

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2005, 10:22 AM
5 Year Member

Default Questions About xA Before Buying

I'm planning on getting a new car this June (after my first year at college) and am near positive it's going to be an xA. I'm a dirt poor student and am saving up my money to pay for the thing all in one lump sum, no monthly payments, so the xA seems like a fesible goal and good quality for my money.

Or is it? There are some issues about the car that are bothering me. Most noticable the age old adage, you get what you pay for. The fact that it's still a Toyota comforts me and I love the look but I wonder if they cut any corners in terms of quality along the way. I'm trying to decide that if the xA is sort of lacking, I might get a tC since there's a $4-5 GRAND difference which I can (barely. I think) manage. I just need to decide in advance what car I'm going to get so I can adjust my work schedule according so come the month of June, I'll be able to buy whichever car.

If it's not too much trouble, can people give me their thoughts on the following items? I'd go to the dealer and try it out to answer some of my questions but it's a bit embarassing to go there and waste their time without any intent to buy. I just want some things answered and when I really am able to buy one, I'll go see it in person and make the final decision.

I just want to say that I'm not planning on doing any modding on it, it will spend it's life stock exactly how I bought it. I will also be driving it back and forth between San Francisco (where I go to school) and Los Angeles (where my family lives) probably once a month but otherwise, it'll be just a local car to get around the city.

EXTERIOR