First Generation 2004-2006.5 [NCP31]

Roll of Port vs. Dealer?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2005, 07:09 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default Roll of Port vs. Dealer?

Hi again,

Now that we have official word from Toyota/Scion that the salsa red xB with steering wheel audio controls will hit western dealers end of December, I'm sure I'll be getting one. It's exactly what I've wanted all along. However, I've been thinking about another question I once posted here. Before my new xB gets to the port, can anyone answer my questions below?

Judge
>>
Hello all,

I've been mostly lurking for a while, searching previous posts and articles as I shop for an xB. I'm a thorough researcher. I have been to over 12 dealerships "interviewing" the Scion sales force. With few exceptions, I am underwhelmed. Far too many Scion representatives are uninformed, and don't even know it. ScionLife has been tremendously valuable to me. I'm a far more informed shopper, that's for sure.

However, there is still something I don't understand. Even after all my searching, I'm not totally clear on what the "port" does. I know the factory in Japan builds our cars and loads them on ships. I know those ships deliver those cars to various ports in the US. I know the port loads the cars onto trucks for distribution to dealers. But then it gets hazy. Can anyone clarify the roll of the port with regard to the following?

* Why does the port sometimes install accessories, and sometimes the dealers does it? Who decides and why?
* Is it possible there is a difference in quality of work done at one over the other?
* If I want installation done at the port, is ordering a car through a dealer the only way to do it?
* Does the customer pay the dealer installation price even if installation was done at the port? If yes, how can that be right, given that dealers can charge different amounts for installation?