Notices

new wheels and tires

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2013, 11:35 PM

Default new wheels and tires

Mt 2010 xb/2 is finally wearing down the stock goodyear tires. (38,000) i was wondering since I need new tires to get new wheels at the same time. Are the stock wheels available for the new xb's available for used xb's and would the dealership install them. I am a novice to upgrading my care, have really enjoyed this car and plan to keep it a while and would like to keep it as close to stock as i can. I see the new xb's at the dealership with the new gunmetal type style and they have the same stock tire size. I understand the dealership would probably be more expensive but I don't mind if they would would do a good job as I get it serviced there as needed. any help or comments appreciated. thanks!
Old 08-29-2013, 11:53 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Utah Scions
SL Member

Any wheel and tire shop can install tires, and wheels. You can certainly find a 16x7 wheel and have installed on your car.
A quick look on TRD Spark's website shows me that there are a couple different OEM 16" alloys available. They're roughly $150 apiece, plus tire, mount, and balance.
I've always had good luck purchasing tires online, but they don't have any warranty. Any good tire shop should be able to provide a good high mileage 205/55R16 tire to throw on any wheels you bring to them.

Good luck!
Old 08-30-2013, 12:02 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Utah Scions
SL Member

If you wanted to spend a little more and like the way the Enkei RPF1 wheel looks, I'd think you'd have a little boost in fuel economy. The original 16" steel wheel tips the scale at 21lbs, but the 16x7 RPF1 is a feathery 14.3lbs.
Old 09-04-2013, 03:19 AM
SL Member

Originally Posted by xseveredveganx