Notices
Scion xD ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Subwoofer Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2009, 06:27 PM

Default Subwoofer Help

Hi, I'm new to all this but...
Just curious if anyone has seen any OEM subwoofer enclosures (powered or not) for an xD? I see them around for the xB and the tC, but not for xD? Anybody know why?

Also, would love some ideas on placement of a simple, moderately priced, good sounding sub system to put in my xD. I really don't want to lose cargo space. I just want to add some depth to my system, I don't need people hearing my hatch rattle as I drive down my neighborhood! I'd love to see any pictures if anyone has some examples. Thanks!
Old 05-28-2009, 06:39 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I havnt found anything for a form fitting prefabricated sub enclosure for the xD.

As far as a moderately simple system that doesnt use up too much cargo space, id say you have a few options.

My amp right now is currently under the front passenger side seat. Stays hidden, has plenty of breathing room, and is pretty simple to run wires to and maintain a simple good look. the only problem with this spot is you have to work with amplifier physical dimensions. i think its something like 14x16x4 or so (id have to go out and measure again for exact specs). for a relaxed system configuration, that is an easy clearance.

for sub enclosures you have a few options. Since part of my job is to run deliveries using the D, I have my sub in a smaller enclosure thats easily moveable, again, not too difficult for a moderate setup. Other options are to use subwoofers like the RE SL line, or the Pioneer Premier thin line, that uses less than .75 cubic ft for a sealed enclosure and less than 1 cubic ft for a ported enclosure. with those types of subs, its possible to fabricate a small fiberglass or even MDF enclosure wwhere that big foam plate is in the back that covers the spare, either cutting some of it out or replacing it entirely.