Notices
Scion xD Suspension & Handling Coilovers, Shocks, Airbags, Swaybars...

Help installing TRD lowering springs?

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2011, 08:27 PM
5 Year Member

Default Help installing TRD lowering springs?

Alright so Im new to the whole car scene and new to doing mod's on my own. I wanna put these springs on, I know I need to rent a spring compressor but what else do I need to do exactly to get these guys on? Jack the car up, compress the stock springs, take those off, then pop the new ones in? Just wanna make sure I'm doing this stuff right before I go poking arround.
Old 08-31-2011, 10:37 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Whoa, hold on a sec. That's awesome that you are getting into modding, thats what this forum is based on, more or less. But start with the easy stuff first, Cold Air Intake, a sway bar, maybe even some headers. But if you don't have much mechanical experience, DO NOT attempt to change the springs on a car. This is a dangerous procedure that can go horribly horribly wrong if you dont know exactly what you're doing... it should be done by a professional. Ive been modding my cars for 10 years now and even I'm not brave enough for this one yet. If you make one wrong move and the spring decompresses suddenly, you could lose a hand, an arm, or worse. Not trying to rain on your parade, but at the very least get someone with some serious wrench time under their belt to help you with this particular procedure
Old 08-31-2011, 10:44 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

^thats ***** lol changing sprints is time consuming at most but not difficult even for a newb
Old 08-31-2011, 10:46 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by ColonelSanders85