Notices
Scion xD ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Upgrade Stereo on 2011 xD, need advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2015, 02:48 PM

Question Upgrade Stereo on 2011 xD, need advice

Hello all, newbie here with zero and I mean ZERO knowledge or experience regarding stereos, wiring, electronics or installation, but I want to get the stock radio replaced with a touch screen unit.

However, in my research I seem to be hitting the following road blocks, at least according to Crutchfield:
  • If I upgrade the stereo, I will lose the steering wheel controls because there isn't an adapter for my car
  • There also isn't an adapter for the USB input that's at the bottom of the console, so I'll lose that as well.
  • That means I have to either get a unit with a front USB or install a second USB and leave the original as a non-functioning dummy
  • there IS an adapter for the Aux input so I can keep that but I'll have to purchase an additional adapter for it
I spent some time looking through the board and all of this appears to be true, especially after looking at this thread:

https://www.scionlife.com/forums/sci...73/?styleid=14

there the guy had to hack together a solution.

I definitely have no interest in doing this, because the only confidence i have regarding doing any electrical work on my car is that in doing so i will absolutely set it on fire...

so I'd rather just buy whatever components are necessary to get what I want, and pay someone who knows what they're doing (and can guarantee their work) to get it done...

BUT if it turns out this can't be done, what options do I have? I can live without the stereo controls if I have to, and I suppose I can mount the extra usb input somewhere,
but i'd really rather not if I don't have to, and would appreciate any input on the very best and easiest way to do this correctly...