Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Engine noise - Please help identify

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2018, 01:47 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Engine noise - Please help identify

I have a 2005 Scion tC. The engine makes an odd noise at idle (drive or reverse, not park)at about 600 rpm. This is more prevalent during cold weather (<45°F). At rpms greater than 800, the whining goes away.

Please help me identify the issue with my engine.

Below is a link to Youtube for a recording I made in a parking garage. at 27-38 seconds, I pressed the pedal to get the Rpms to be around 800 and the sound went away. you may need to turn up the volume to hear the sound clearly as the recording is not great.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by MR_LUV; 01-24-2018 at 03:11 AM. Reason: typo
Old 01-26-2018, 01:07 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

no ideas?
Old 01-26-2018, 02:09 AM
Banned
SL Member

I'm not an expert on this kind of stuff but here you go... When I read your post I assumed it was a tranny problem and I can't help with that. But now that I've listened to the noise it almost sounds like a bad motor mount. Very low RPM noises can be caused by a lot of things, heat shields, exhaust hangers that are breaking, things in your glove compartment, etc. Can you see the engine shake more than normal below 800rpm?
Old 01-26-2018, 12:45 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

thanks for the insight. I hope to pop the hood this weekend and see how the engine acts during low rpm.

question: how can i tell if it is the engine mount when performing this test?
Old 01-27-2018, 05:27 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member