2005-2010 [ANT10]

engine/tranny loud crack when wheels hop

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2005, 10:19 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default engine/tranny loud crack when wheels hop

ok, it's happened everytime i have attempted to spin the tires. i have a 5speed with stock tires. whenever it's wet outside, it seems that instead of the wheels spinning, they hop. however, when they hop, i hear this loud crack noise from under the hood about 3/4 of a second into the wheel hop spin.

what is this? is this the engine slamming against something?
Old 02-28-2005, 10:21 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

My guess is your suspension mounts normally absorbing the force.
Old 02-28-2005, 11:28 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

I had that happen in my tc,. The car has good low end power, so it spins out easy, on wet roads. Just try hitting the gas a little lighter next time.
Old 02-28-2005, 11:34 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I'm new to driving a stick, how exactly do you spin out? do you just let the clutch out real fast and gas normally?
Old 03-01-2005, 01:24 AM
Banned
SL Member

Default Re: engine/tranny loud crack when wheels hop

Originally Posted by xnevergiveinx
ok, it's happened everytime i have attempted to spin the tires. i have a 5speed with stock tires. whenever it's wet outside, it seems that instead of the wheels spinning, they hop. however, when they hop, i hear this loud crack noise from under the hood about 3/4 of a second into the wheel hop spin.

ATTENTION: You have a front wheel drive car.

The sound you are hearing is the cash register at the dealership when you blow up your CV joints by acting 2Fast and 2Furious.

There is no "cool" way to lay wheel in a front wheel drive car, so stop trying unless you want to damage your car and then argue with Toyota when they don't believe you that the half-shaft snapped when you were driving gently down the street like a little old lady.