2005-2010 [ANT10]

need help with engine break-in

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2004, 01:50 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

Default need help with engine break-in

hi all, im very new to cars and after reading all these posts on engine break-in periods im pretty paranoid.

my white tc has about 10 miles on it, but i NEED to get it to a place 240 miles away. the route there will have a lot of hills and steep inclines around mountains. but almost 80% will be a regular highway with speeds around 70-80mph.

i don't want to potentionally harm my engine. what should i do? shoould i drive extra slow or vary speeds?
Old 10-19-2004, 01:54 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

Default Re: need help with engine break-in

Originally Posted by nizzle
hi all, im very new to cars and after reading all these posts on engine break-in periods im pretty paranoid.

my white tc has about 10 miles on it, but i NEED to get it to a place 240 miles away. the route there will have a lot of hills and steep inclines around mountains. but almost 80% will be a regular highway with speeds around 70-80mph.

i don't want to potentionally harm my engine. what should i do? shoould i drive extra slow or vary speeds?

No worries!! Just vary your engine speeds. 70mph shouldnt be a problem. Congrats on your tC!!
Old 10-19-2004, 02:05 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
AlphaSquad

SL Member

Don't worry your car will be fine it's better to break it in that way rather than babying it.
Old 10-19-2004, 02:30 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Premium Member

Your car will be fine. Just get your first oil change at around 1000 miles to get all the metal shavings and gunk out the engine...
Old 10-19-2004, 02:41 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

vary your speed... in the manual it says not to go to higher speeds during the first 500 miles i believe... if i were you and there isn't alot of traffic up ur butt... id go between 65 and 50 but hey thats just me