Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Scion turned off & won't Start VCS, Check Engine Light, Trac Off light came on..

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2010, 05:48 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default Scion turned off & won't Start VCS, Check Engine Light, Trac Off light came on..

Hi I am new to this and I don't even know if I am posting in the right area.

I have a 2004 Scion xB. I was driving on the highway, when first (ALL ON THE PANEL) the Check Engine Light went on, Trac off went on (whatever that means?) and the VCS (whatever that means) that happened first, then 5 min. later the car just turned off. So I pulled off to the side of the freeway and the car wouldn't start. I could smell something, don't know how to describe it, it didn't seem like burnt rubber or anything, maybe a fluid smell. I cant explain, then saw a little smoke from under the hood. It wouldn't start, and still wont. I turn the key on and it has power, meaning when I try and turn the key it does make a sound. it just wont kick over, it has a weird sound like humming or something like that when I try and start it.